Rustic Mushroom Olive Tart

Ingredients:
Pie Crust

A few years ago I came upon my now standby pie crust recipe in Martha Stewart’s Everyday Food magazine. I’ve recently started making it by hand after getting into a fight with a food processor.
This makes 2 crusts, so halve it if you only want one. You can make 2 pies or have a double crust, freeze one half or make one pie and eat the other half raw because you love pie crust that much. Whatever.

2 1/2 cups flour
1 tsp salt
1 tsp sugar
1 cup (2 sticks) cold butter
1/4 – 1/2 cold water

Mix the flour, salt & sugar together. Using either a pastry cutter or food processor blend in the cold butter until blended and crumbly. Slowly add cold water working into mealy mix with pastry cutter (or pulse in FP). Remember you can always add more water if the mix is too dry. Separate into 2 piles, form into balls and lay onto a sheet of plastic wrap. Then flatten so the circle’s about and inch to 2 inches thick, wrap it up and stick in the fridge. The crust will be good for a couple of days in the fridge or freeze to last up to 3 months. Let it chill in the fridge for at least an hour before using so you’re able to roll it out easily. Although for the rustic tart I just use the palms of my hands.

I’ve been using this crust to make fruit and pumpkin pies for years now and recently like a light bulb over my head that I couldn’t believe had taken so long to come on, I realized I could use it for savory pies/tarts too! Really the possibilities are endless. You can fill these things with whatever strikes your fancy. My latest fancy was mushrooms and olives. When I cook I don’t typically follow a recipe, I like winging it. This, to the best of my memory is what went into last night’s tart.

Mushroom filling:
2 T butter, melted
1 T extra virgin olive oil
6-8 med/large mushrooms sliced
1 small red onion sliced
1 clove garlic diced
half 12 oz can of large black olives, quartered
1 tsp tapioca flour (for thickening, preferable to regular flour because it won’t get all clumpy)
herbs to taste:
fresh parsley
dried thyme
fresh basil
salt
pepper

Leave a Reply

